Sarcan’s WildStar Guide

Nameplate Anatomy Guide

ORIGINALLY POSTED ON on february 21, 2014

Nameplates tell you so much about what you are about to get into if you engage or even just get to close to the NPC’s in your area. Yet we here so many people complaining about how hard some mobs are, even when they are lower level than they are. The story is the same, time and again. They complain that the reason they fail is that their class must be weak, too difficult to play, and so on, and so on. However, the truth is that in most cases, they just haven’t actually paused long enough to get the full story of what the nameplate is telling them before they just barrel in and try to overpower things they are not ready tackle.

A bit of knowledge and planning will greatly improve you effectiveness in quests and challenges. Did you know that the level of the mob, while indicating whether they are weaker or tougher in relation to your level, is designed to indicate the amount of XP you will receive and that the frame around the portrait is the true indication of how hard they are to kill? Now that I have made you pause, let’s take a look at the Anatomy of the WildStar Nameplate in detail.

Looking at Metal Maw’s Nameplate (above), we can walk around the frame and what each item will indicate. Then I will go into each area in-depth with all the known icons you will see in the area.

AlertsNotify you of objectives associated with the target in question. Below are the indicators you will see here. If there is a Green plus sign in the upper right corner, then multiple of that alert are associated with

Quest – Shown next to mobs that will give credit towards a quest completion.


Challenge – Shown next to mobs that will give credit towards Challenge completion.


Achievement – Shown next to mobs that will give an Achievement.

Buffs Area – Special Effects indicator – These are buffs indicators that change how the encounter occurs with some mobs. In the example of Chompy;

Engorged – Chompy grows significantly stronger with each Engorged stack.


FrameThe framing area around the portrait is the indicator of how tough the mob compared to other mobs of the same level. This is the main thing you want to pay attention before attacking. Even if a mob is a few levels lower than you, attacking one with a high difficulty indicator could leave you face down in the dirt. All frames are based on the level of the Mob.

Elite – Ranked very strong but will only have the Superior fins added if rare.



Superior – Ranked Strong, usual associated with a quest or path mission. Some are Named and some a Rare Named and will drop loot.

Challenger – Ranked nearly your equal


Grunt – Ranked easy


Minion – Ranked weak


Fodder – Not ranked



Name The color of the name indicates the hostility of the mob.

Red Hostile, attacks on sight
Yellow Neutral, will respond if attacked
Green Friendly, can’t be attacked

DefenseInterrupt Armor Rating: How many spells you can withstand before being affected by a CC spell. Regenerates naturally over time.  You goal should be to clear the Interrupt Armor counters with abilities that clear Interrupt Armor from the target so you can stop special attacks the mob do.

Immune – Unable to remove the Interrupt Armor Rating

Counter – How many times you need to use Interrupt Armor removing abilities to allow CC.

Broken – Interrupt Armor has successfully been removed, for now.

EncounterIntended number target designed to counter. Typically you will see a 5 for a group mod, 20 for small raid and 40 for a large raid boss.


Bruiser – Mobs that primarily use CC in their attacks like charge and stomp that knock you down.

Defensive Healer – Mobs that mainly act as healers for their friends.

Guard – High defense mobs.


Melee DPS – Mobs that will use melee and stay in melee range with who has agro.

Offensive Healer – Mobs that will do damage to gain healing, life steal type abilities.


Ranged DPS – Mobs that stay at Ranged to attack and generally will not move unless you leave their range of attack.


Tank – Mobs that will act as the tank for their friends attempting to pull agro off of their friends.

Townie – generally non-aggressive mobs that will not attack until attacked.

Vehicle – Vehicles that are damageable will have this indicator.



LevelColor of the level indicates relative level compared to you, which also corresponds to the amount of Experience they are worth. The tooltip will also give you the Title for that relative level range that indicates difficult based on differences in stats as follows:

Color Relative Level Range Amount of XP Difficulty Rating
Purple +4 levels and Greater Greatly increased XP Impossible
Red +3 levels Highly increased XP Hard
Orange +2 levels Increased XP Tough
Yellow +1 Level Slightly increased XP Moderate
White = Level Standard XP Average
Blue -1 Level Slightly reduced XP Easy
Light Blue -2 Levels Reduced XP Minor
Green -3 Levels Highly Reduced XP Inferior
Grey Great than -4 Levels No XP Trivial


As with all my guides, I hope you have found this informative and will help you in your travels on Nexus

A special thank you goes out to @ScelesticWings for his assistance in navigating Houston to obtain the Icons that made this article possible.

This guide can be found translated at the following locations


If you would like to translate this or any of my guides, just submit a request and provide the location.